This article covers:

Price and feature breakdown

To explore the features of our free, Team, and Corporate policies, see the detailed breakdown.

What is a policy?

A policy is the set of rules, settings, and spending limits for expense reports in your organization. This includes the unique expense categories and tags, expense amount thresholds, currency and tax settings, etc. that all policy members will use. A policy will also define the approval workflow for your employees, as well as the accounting connection if you're integrating an accounting software. You can even set up multiple policies at no additional cost if you need to define separate groups with varying settings!

Try all features free with a 7 day trial!

We offer a free 7-day trial of our Corporate policy, so you can experience all of Expensify’s functionality without even putting a credit card down. Click here to start your free trial today! 

Are there any hidden costs?

Expensify has no hidden costs, no contracts, no setup fee, no customer service fee, and no training fees. Not only is our pricing entirely transparent, but our activity-based pricing model means that companies only pay for the employees that actually use Expensify, so “dead seats” don’t cost you a penny. 

Activity-based pricing. Only pay for what you use!

Expensify only charges companies for the employees that actually use Expensify - we call these employees “active users”. An active user is anyone that has edited (created, submitted, approved, exported, etc.) expense data on a company policy in a given month. At the end of the month, no matter how many employees you have, you will only be billed for your active users. Each active user can submit an unlimited number of expense reports at no extra charge. All of our other great features, including unlimited SmartScanning and automatic credit card import, are included at no extra charge as well.

Billing with multiple actors across multiple policies

If a given user edits data on multiple policies, you will only be billed for that user once, so long as all policies are owned by the same user. If they edit data on both Team and Corporate policies, you will be charged for that user once at the Corporate rate.  If you want to make sure that all policies are owned by the same user, please see our Take Over Billing article.

Team Policy 

A Team policy costs $5 per month per active user. This means that you are billed $5 per month for every user that edits expense data on your Team policy, and you’ll never be charged more than $5 per active user.  Inactive users will not be charged. The Team plan is great for small groups like startups, churches, and student groups, and includes integrations with QuickBooks and Xero.

The Team policy is also great for independent users who would like more than 10 SmartScans per month. Keep in mind, every receipt imported into Expensify via an integration, emailed to receipts@expensify.com, or scanned with your phone is considered a SmartScan.

Corporate Policy 

The cost of a Corporate policy is $9 per month per active user. This means that you are billed $9 per month for every user that edits expense data on your Corporate policy. No matter how much activity a user has in a given month, you will be charged $9 for that user. Inactive users will not be charged. Corporate policies are great for all companies, big and small, as you will have access to all policy settings and a more detailed approval workflow setup.  

How am I billed?

The billing card on file for the billing owner will be charged automatically at the beginning of each month for the active users for the previous month on all policies they own. This card can be found by clicking the blue Settings icon > Account Settings > Billing. You can change the billing card here as well. 

Where can I find my billing receipt?

All receipts for the month as well as a breakdown of active users charged can be found below the billing card area under Account Settings. Click the blue settings icon in the upper right hand corner of the screen > Account Settings > Billing, and scroll down:

Each receipt will show in detail the list of actors (active users) broken down per policy. 

Expensify automatically creates a receipt from your billing expense, which will be added to your expense report if you are using Scheduled Submit on your policy. So if you don’t have a company credit card, you can still put a personal card down for billing, and we’ll make sure you receive reimbursement. 

How do I update the policy/billing owner?

Take Over Billing will walk you through this process. This admin will own the billing card in their account settings and be charged for all the active users on all policies owned.

How do I know which policy I have?

Click the Admin tab, then click the policy name. The type of policy will be displayed here:

How do I downgrade/upgrade my policy type?

Click the button to the right of the policy type to either upgrade to a Corporate policy, or downgrade to a Team policy:

What do I lose when I downgrade my policy from Corporate to Team?

You will see the following error message when downgrading, which will list the features that will be lost when downgrading. It's extremely important to note that this change is not reversible. Anything that is lost as mentioned in the dialogue will need to be set up again manually if you choose to upgrade once more.

How do I upgrade from the free version of Expensify to a Team or Corporate policy?

If you have never started your 30 day trial of a Team or Corporate policy and are still using the free version of the app, click the "Upgrade" button at the bottom of your screen when logged into Expensify.com to get started. 

This will create a Corporate policy. You'll be taken through the Inbox where Concierge will help you finish setting up!

Want to review details before you upgrade? Click "Pricing" to the right of the Upgrade button to view a full feature breakdown. You can create a Team or Corporate policy from this page too.

How do I downgrade back to the free version of Expensify?

If you are finishing a 30 day trial and have decided that you no longer want to continue your policy use, you will see this card in your Inbox. Click "downgrade", but you’ll lose the features listed above.

If you have been using the policy beyond the 30 days (or decide to delete the policy before you are prompted to place a billing card on file) and would like to return to the free version of Expensify, simply delete the policy to ensure that you won’t be charged after your free trial ends.

How do I delete a policy?

If you want to delete a policy that was either accidentally created or is no longer needed, this will need to be done from the website rather than the mobile app.

From the Admin tab, click the trashcan icon to the right:

Make sure that you have reviewed, approved, and/or reimbursed any reports on this policy prior to deletion. Any members that are also a part of the policy will no longer have access to their Open reports after this deletion, and you cannot undelete a policy. This is very important!

Still have questions? Reach out to help@expensify.com and our team will get back to you as soon as possible!

Did this answer your question?